Frog and Toad Together Blog

Napping, Knitting, Buying Kids Clothes and Walkin' Dogs…for the people

I need a less buzzkill-y book February 12, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — frogandtoadtogether @ 2:55 pm

The last book I read was “Family Life” about an Indian family who emigrated to the U.S. of A. and shortly thereafter their eldest son dove into a swimming pool and conked his head and didn’t wake up in the morning. He got brain damage and was a veg. And the story was about how that impacted the family – his parents and his younger brother. AND it’s based on the author’s life, who happens to be that younger brother. And the dad turned to the drink. And lo, it was grim.

NOW I’m reading my book club book, “All The Things I Never Told You” which is about a 16 year old girl who dies and how that all unfolds for her family with includes parents, an older brother and a younger sister. It’s very good so far. But again with the grim. Reading about children dying (or starring in their own very personal episode of Veggie Tales) is hard. I do not like the family implosion stories.

I need something funny and/or silly after this one. The one before Family Life was a thriller about a raging alcoholic, and lo, that was good, but also a drag at times. Let me know if you have a recommendation.

What else? A friend from work treated me to a lunchtime pedicure today. HOLLA!! The sun is shining in P-town after many days of rain and I chose a nice spring-y pink. Man alive, I work with nice folks!

 

2 Responses to “I need a less buzzkill-y book”

  1. Emily Says:

    I finished Descent if you want it. Of course, it’s more family explosion…

  2. quinn gates Says:

    Uggh. That second book sound like The Lovely Bones. Fucking terrible! I didn’t finish it. Half way through I got so mad I the the book across the room and left it there for a week before picking it up and giving it back to mom. I don’t get downer books. Weekdays the point?


Leave a Reply

