Frog and Toad Together Blog

Napping, Knitting, Buying Kids Clothes and Walkin' Dogs…for the people

Lots of Change October 15, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — frogandtoadtogether @ 11:11 am

So not only have we moved homes, I’ve also had a job switch that required me to move buildings…then in my new job (third in nine months?) we relocated to yet another new building. I posted the wall décor pic earlier this week? Anywhooo, it’s very modern and very minimalist and very OPEN…and it’s Not My Cup of Tea. I’m trying really hard to not be a Debbie Downer about it, but we are so close to our cubicle neighbors now…and we don’t have full cubicles. I have a 4×2 board in front of me and one to my left. To my right I can see my neighbor in plain view. It *looks* uber cool and modern…something you’d see on TV in an ad agency or something…but for an introvert and quiet-liker? Um, NAH.

Like I said, I’m trying to be a moaner and co-plainer, because NOBODY GOT TIME FOR THAT. The move-organizer folks have worked so hard, and so much (design, etc) is out of their control – what good does co-plaining do? But oh lord this is hard. People are very touchy about the lighting situation and someone asked today if we liked the overhead lighting, or if we wanted to have it dimmed and use desk lamps. I’m super easy going, but I’m going to have to decline that idea. The no-light work area is about one inch from a suicide attempt for me. Seriously. I can’t deal. I can compromise with so much more…but not that. I may have to make them get me one of those SADD lamps or something. Stupid modern offices.

On a positive note, we have a very fancy new coffee machine that makes lattes and all sorts of crap. It’s super easy to use, all computerized and it’s darn cool. I’m generally anti individual pod coffee makers because ENVIRONMENT but someone told me the packets these things come in are compostable. I’m choosing to believe it because LAZY, but I inspected those things and they feel pretty damn petroleum-based to me. I’m going to google it.

Yeah, that was a big fat lie.

OK – on another positive note – the folks around me are pretty quiet and very nice. Thank goodness for that, right?

I think maybe I’ve just had too much change lately though. It’s time for this 44 year old to have a nice quiet spell of SMOOOOOOOOOTH SAILING.

 

Leave a Reply

