Frog and Toad Together Blog

Napping, Knitting, Buying Kids Clothes and Walkin' Dogs…for the people

More Soap January 29, 2014

Filed under: Alicia Blather,Uncategorized — frogandtoadtogether @ 12:52 pm

I am making another batch of soap.  This is my fourth- counting the first batch that did not turn out.  My second batch I have decided that the end of Feb. will be the time to start using it.  However, yesterday I couldn’t wait and I used it for my shower.  I chose the thinnest bar, and probably the furthest cured.  It was LOVELY.  Really, lovely.  I have read so much about soap and soap making in the past 3 months and I have learned that commercial bars of soap have all the glycerin, which is naturally present in soap, removed.  I’m not sure if it was the glycerin or just a good mix of fats that I used, but the bar is fantastic.  The scent is a little too light.  I used orange oil which is really nice, but not much of it.  The batch I’m working on now has orange, bergamot and lemon.  Should be delightful.  This morning I visited Portland Homestead Supply for the first time.  Right by Vine Gogh, by the way.  I will be returning after I get paid.  Finally- a place in town to buy lye.  Paranoia sets in when I buy it on amazon and I imagine the feds keeping tabs on my internet buying habits.  I got some cocoa butter and castor oil and added them to my usual ingredients- lard (that’s right), olive oil, coconut oil and avocado oil.  Has anyone ever smelled pure cocoa butter?  It smells like chocolate.  Like REALLY like yummy chocolate.  I guess that makes sense, though.  I am on the hunt for sodium lactate in case anyone out there knows where I can get some.  I think that will put my soap over the top.  Please let me know if you are interested in trying some soap- I’ll send you some.

 

4 Responses to “More Soap”

  1. Sauly Says:

    I want to try! And I want to make some! I’ll be down for the 2/22 fandango, in case Toad didn’t mention it.

  2. MHar Says:

    Oh, sure. Come for the one I can’t make, Sauls.


Leave a Reply

