Frog and Toad Together Blog

Napping, Knitting, Buying Kids Clothes and Walkin' Dogs…for the people

Good news/bad news January 14, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — frogandtoadtogether @ 1:10 pm

I remembered to get my lunch out of the fridge. That’s the good news.

The bad news is that I went against my palate-cleanser thoughts of last night and dug this out and started it while eating the aforementioned lunch.

I’m on page 13 and am haunted already. Sierra Leone circa 1993, as we always say here at F&TT, IS A BAD DEAL.

Is “a Bad Deal” in the dictionary? It should be. Things we’ve recently noted as Bad Deals: slavery, child soldiers, and Sierra Leone’s civil war. Circus mission is a Bad Deal. You get the point. North Korea is a Bad Deal. Somali Hostage situation is a Bad Deal.
Me forgetting my lunch is not a Bad Deal. It’s a Fucking Bummer, but no where near a Bad Deal. Cigar moking guerrilla twin 12-year olds is a Bad Deal.

Lord above, this world!

After this book I am DONE with Africa books. I’ll need a hard core palate cleanser like, oh, I don’t know – 47 Archie and Jughead comic books. And while I’m on my trip to Europe/Asia I CANNOT read any of these depeche mode books. I’ll be too homesick and weepy about missing my kids. I wonder of there are comic books available on the Kindle.

 

One Response to “Good news/bad news”

  1. Emily Says:

    Gah, I was just going to post that you really shouldn’t read this! It’s SO depressing. But it was really good, in that “god, what a terrible situation but I should know about it” kind of way.


Leave a Reply

